Day #5, Sept 12th – PHILADELPHIA, PA

IMG_0528

“SOMETIMES A SMALL KEY CAN OPEN BIG DOOR”

IMG_0548
Can you find a difference between this picture…
IMG_0549
…and this picture?

Sasha:
The drive from DC to Philly isn’t too long, but we spent some time in traffic. Something we got to get used to when traveling on the east coast.

Wooden shoe books is nice not too small but very cozy book and info shop situated on quite busy street full of small shops and corner food places. This neighborhood seems to be very alive but I spend most of the time berofe the talk inside the book shop and hanging out and checking out all the books they have. With every book I read there is at least 10 more I want to read.

IMG_0558

The shop has as well a wall full of zines, pamphlets and primers and besides thousands of different books it offers some nice postcards, “celebrate peoples’ history” posters, some cool patches and a corner with records.

IMG_0552

I miss this kind of place in Prague. Open info-book shop with defined politics and many many books hosting presentations, discussions and other events. Like something between Recomando and Sale 🙂 (Of course I like both of the places<3 )

IMG_0563

45 people attended the event and some nice discussions were going on till quite late. I like how big variety of people coming to our events. Sometimes elders, sometimes a person with parents (who are surprisely radical), many trans and queer people, people of different ethnics and colors, backgrounds, students, punks, casual kids, and people of different opinions.

Need to say that people coming to our event are very often well educated about history and know a lot about countries we are coming from, their history and culture. As well many people are very radical and as I said, its not just a matter of few “have nothing to loose” young hot heads, but my general feeling of people I met here.

IMG_0561

I was told that north east is more syndicalist and only place of anarchist unions, but people discussing with us felt to be rather into insurrection than into big official organization.

When leaving we realized we got our first (and hopefully last) parking ticket. The Wooden Shoe collective said they will cover it. Thank you for all and great hospitality. Your space is very special! Keep fighting!

We had a lot of fun till late and I seriously think that Z shall do stand up comedy. Stories from EKH, French unwilling to speak English or help you to find vegan products, bath top faux pas experiences and many made me crying in my laugh!

IMG_0574IMG_0587IMG_0592