Day #1, Sept 8th – CHAPEL HILL, NC

IMG_0523

Sasha:
Tuesday came faster than I expected and I still don’t feel very well prepared. I was working on my presentation basically non stop, besides sleeping, but I even don’t get much of that. The back porch is situated under trees in a small forest, so we take a mattress out there and sleep outside. It’s very hot but cozy.

What’s typical for Chapel Hill, or let’s say the surrounding of our top-secret hideout (since I hardly left that place) is endless and very intense buzzing of cicadas and many silver squirrels. I have also seen a deer mother with a little faun, eating leaves of a nearby tree. And yeah, least but not last – spiders in NC are much bigger than in Czech.

I am borrowing bike from a friend and climbing up the hill to find a place to print ANTIFENIX posters and when I get there, all sweaty, I realized that I forgot the usb-stick in the house. ‘Classic Sasha’ I think when going all the way back and climbing the hill on little loose bike for the second time.

The presentation was held in the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. It was the first day of speaking, not the biggest event, many friends would come, so we took it easier and pep ourselves that it will be good anyway. The best environment to start. A bit over 30 people showed up and the whole evening was calm and friendly. I don’t think I’ll continue to report about our money situation but the fact that on donations we made literary one Dollar is pretty funny. We had some nice discussions and after almost 2,5 hours we left the place towards our new home, where we staying for last night before taking off for the tour.

After the event everyone we know is going to the house where we cooking local specialty tadertachos and had incredibly tasty and big dinner. Almost like how we eat at home. I mean the amount of food was the same, just the number of people twice as big 🙂

We ending the night with for me the biggest surprise which is a swimming pool 3 mins walk distance from the house, where is very easy to sneak in. Hanging out in the water, watching stars and telling traditional stupid jokes from different countries…”The Portuguese invented many great things, like wind shield wipers, Germans just made ’em better. They put them on the outside.”

Well enough great and sweet time in NC, last night outside and HURRRAAYYY!!